Skip to content

Made it! (and on time…..)

June 26, 2010

For those of you who were tracking us on the Spot GPS…. we DID actually make it to KFDK on time!  In fact, we had 40 minutes to spare. (Apparently the GPS stopped working somewhere in West Virginia, leaving some of my family members a little concerned!)  Sorry about that… it was still blinking green when I arrived in Frederick – so I had no idea it wasn’t working. 

At approximately 4:2o pm on Friday, June 25th, Heather and I completed our first Air Race Classic BEFORE the 5pm deadline.  We were indeed the last team to arrive – but remember, it isn’t about who landed first…but who had the best time overall for each leg.  We don’t have a clue how we did vs. others, but we are extremely proud that we were able to complete this race despite the rocky start.

I hope you’ll check back here in the next few days to see some of our photos and read a few of our stories about these past 2 days.  Thank you for your support in our quest to complete this race and for not losing faith in our ability to rise above and “Get ‘er done!”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rick Bernardi permalink
    June 26, 2010 11:30 am

    Great Job!! Your ability to Improvise, Adapt, & Overcome says it all.

    • Debbie McCauley permalink
      June 28, 2010 5:28 pm

      I wholeheartedly agree with Rick–great perseverance Sandi and Heather!

  2. Roy Terkelsen permalink
    June 26, 2010 2:40 pm

    Congratulations Heather and Sandi!!!!!!! What an exciting race. The Spot GPS worked great until you got to WV. I’m one of the family members who thought you parked the plane in Keyser, WV and quit the race. Although, knowing the both of you I really knew you wouldn’t give up. I can’t wait to see the rest of your pictures and hear (in detail) the rest of the stories from your adventure. If anyone happens to read this comment, you need to know whenever I get a chance I love to fly with my daughter Sandi. Anyway, Heather and Sandi (The Warrior Women) are “Champions” in my book. Roy/Dad

  3. MarieTerkelsen permalink
    June 26, 2010 2:53 pm

    Glad you are back “safe and sound”. Now my heart is back to a normal heartbeat! Mom/Marie

Leave a Reply

