Skip to content

Departure and Arrival

June 20, 2010

I left Frederick, MD Friday morning at 7:00 a.m.  Bags packed…and carefully weighed to  be sure I was within my 50 lb. limit.  (This was our self imposed limit for weight and balance in the Piper.)  The three bags below added up to 45 lbs. per my very scientific method of weighing myself and then weighing myself while holding each of the bags.  I was quite pleased especially since I should be able to pare that down after our weekend events in Ft. Myers.

At BWI, I was pleased to see that the President and First Lady had taken the time to wish us luck on the race and send me off in style.  You can see they were just beaming with excitement:

Meanwhile, Heather was at Page Field at 9 a.m. sharp for the airplane inspection.  The previous afternoon she had made arrangements to have the plane washed and waxed (see photos on our Flickr account,) and she was looking good.  Not knowing quite what to expect, Heather was armed with every piece of documentation she had ever received for N6908B.  The inspection seemed to be going well until she was asked to produce a form 337 for the strobe lights.  [Okay… I too had to look up what a form 337 is ’cause I wasn’t paying attention that day in Airplane Mechanic Class!  A form 337 is required by the FAA any time a MAJOR repair or alteration is done to an airplane.]  Heather’s heart began racing as she questioned the inspector.  “We’ve never had the strobes replaced!”  was Heather’s stand.  Apparently, the inspector was under the impression that the strobes on the plane were not a stock part, and had been installed as an upgrade.

I’m not sure how long it took to get the chief inspector over to the plane, but thank goodness he finally weighed in.  Vern was able to verify that these strobes were indeed factory issued!  Heather breathed a sigh of relief and Bravoski sailed through the remainder of the inspection.

By the time my flight arrived in Ft. Myers, all was settled and team Warrior Women was reunited for the first time since late January.  The remainder of the day was devoted to getting me settled in at the hotel, registering and having our credentials reviewed.  Everything was good and we celebrated a successful day with dinner at Outback before heading home to crash for the night.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Roy Terkelsen permalink
    June 20, 2010 4:18 am

    I am sooooooooooooooooo nervous about this race! Not about the flying part, because I know the Warrior Women pilots, but about the potential of having some little “cotter pin” that may be three days too old causing Heather and Sandi to be disqualified. Oh well – sounds like they have gotten past the final airplane inspections. I will be tracking you two as you report your progress.
    God Speed – Dad/Roy

    • June 20, 2010 9:59 am

      Happy Father’s Day, Dad! Thanks for following our posts. We were worried about that too…but we’re good to go now. We start our briefings today, but hope to still find some time to get to the beach. I love you! San

Leave a Reply

