Skip to content

Ready or not….

June 18, 2010

…. here I come.  Heather, Chris and Bravoski made it to Florida safe and sound on Thursday.  They unexpectedly spent Wednesday night in Gainesville, FL after thunderstorms came in and wouldn’t move out!  That’s Florida weather for you, and part of the challenge we’ll be facing during our four days of racing next week.

Meanwhile, here if Frederick, I was interviewed by the Frederick News-Post for an article they’re writing about local racers in Frederick.  In true AOPA style, we offered the reporter a “first flight” in our 2010 Sweepstakes plane – the Remos.  Dave H., one of AOPA’s writers (and accomplished pilot,) was at the helm.  Blair told me it was a good experience, and was amazed at the power of the plane when Dave let him take the yoke.

And some of you may be reading this blog for the first time because you saw the article on the AOPA website.  While originally several staff members were planning to participate in the race, it came down to just me.  But the support from the others has been amazing and I know they wish Heather and I well.  Alyssa, Jill and Kathleen…. we hope to make you proud!

So….my bags are packed….(do I have everything?)….I hope so ’cause I’m out the door bright and early on Friday heading for BWI!  Someone else will have to handle that flight…. I’ll be sitting in back reviewing race rules, charts, and just wishing that time would move faster and we would LAND ALREADY!!!!!  I want to be there now!

N6908B has been washed and waxed by professionals and she’s first in line for inspection at 9am Friday morning.  Heather needs to be present for that process, as race rules require that one team member (the one most familiar with the plane) be on hand to answer questions and produce any documentation required.  After that….she’ll head over to RSW (the OTHER Ft. Myers airport) to pick me up.

See you in Florida…..

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Joey permalink
    June 18, 2010 6:56 pm

    I’m super excited for ya! I’ll be cheering you on all week!

  2. Dan permalink
    June 18, 2010 7:43 pm

    Looking forward to reading more about your adventures, hurry up, blog again! Also, please post a picture of all the “gear” you guys are stuffing in the plane!

    • June 19, 2010 1:16 am

      Fear not, Dan, more posts are on their way. We have to “experience” something before we can blog about it, otherwise you’ll just get a blog about blogging and then where would we be?

      We’ll be sure to post a picture of all the stuff we cram into the baggage compartment…but right now it’s all strewn across our hotel room and we’ve decided NOT to subject our loyal readers to that! S&H

  3. HIlary Harris permalink
    June 19, 2010 10:31 am

    Good luck ladies !!!! I will be watching your posts every day and can’t wait to hear all the details in person when you return.

    • June 19, 2010 12:18 pm

      Thanks, Hilary. Sorry I didn’t see you before I left…it’s been crazy. Today we get a chance for some R&R and we plan to make the most of it.

Leave a Reply

