Skip to content

SPOT us!

June 13, 2010

Have you ever heard of Spot GPS? 

Until recently, neither had I.  Spot GPS is a personal GPS device that’s used by all types of adventure seekers be it hiking, climbing, flying, etc.  It allows friends and family to follow along on an adventure by seeing nearly real-time mapping of the GPS coordinates.  When activated, the GPS tracking function sends a signal every 10 minutes leaving a bread crumb like trail for others to follow.

I’m borrowing one from a friend at AOPA, and I’m currently in the process of testing it out.  Thanks to Dan P. at work, I’m getting the hang of it and thanks to my friend Ken, we’re getting closer to figuring out how the web tracking works.  With just a few days to go before I leave for Florida it looks like I’ll be able to have this set up in time.

There’s also a safety benefit to having the Spot GPS.  In the event of an emergency, it can signal for help and pinpoint our exact location.  We’re not planning to test that feature….but it’s comforting to know it’s there.

I hope to have the link posted on this blog as soon as we’re ready to “go public” and perhaps have the real-time map posted here as well.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2010 1:12 am

    Heather was telling me about this!!!

    I’ll keep track of you and all of your travels…I’m so envious!

    Don’t forget us here at MMK when you become superstars!

    • June 14, 2010 2:08 am

      Hey Melanie! No way we’ll forget all our friends and supporters at KMMK. For me, that’s where this all started. We’re excited to have this experience and can’t wait to meet all the other racers.

  2. June 14, 2010 12:18 pm

    Can’t wait to track your progress!!

  3. Rick Bernardi permalink
    June 14, 2010 7:56 pm

    Check ur email for pics of 29

Leave a Reply

